My new super glasses

Okay so theyre not super glasses, but from my experience theyre all a man needs in life. (Food? Pfft.) So I’ll just start with a little story about maself. 

Since I was a bebe, my eyes have been vampire eyes. The slightest light above room lighting was something that would pierce the most sensitive organs on my face every single time I’d go outside. (Imagine leaving the movies out into the desert sun with sun-bleached concrete reflecting it back up when you thought you were safe covering the sky.) 

So on more than one occasion I had thought of getting special made glasses that have a regular tint on the inside and the Transitions tint on the outside, so I always have some protection but more is available if needed. Now, I cant quite say how well that wouldve worked, especially when driving >.> and hopefully never will lol. 

SO. It’s been at least 3 years since I got my last pair of glasses, and I have this lingering thought that its the UV that kills my eyes, backed up by the times my eyes hurt on OVERCAST days when I look into the sky. I was thinking, what DONT I see that might hurt my eyes? /_- (oh, I dunno, high energy invisible radiation from the sky?) 

So, continuing, we go to order my glasses, and walmart is advertising a blue-light filter (for computer nerds) for an additional $15, and I think “why not?” I’m always on the computer anyways. When I’m not, I’m on my phone. (And I had that lingering UV experiment, so I had to try.) and enthusiastically told the glasses lady that I’d like the blue light thing plz. (Since speaking in laymans terms makes you look more friendly). And of course the glasses reciept had a number a little higher than expected lol. Anyways, I got the glasses. 

So I had to fiddle with my camera settings to get the (eye accurate) brilliance of the purple that reflects off the lenses, since the >blue light is not let through. Guess who doesnt need sunglasses anymore? Someone who bought some recently lol but also me. Turns out, UV was ACTUALLY the problem o: Go figure. It wasnt until a minute or two after stepping outside into the walmart parking lot with my new eyes on that I real-eyesed my eyes didnt hurt! I saw how bright it was, but it was only the blue light and above that was doing damage. Otherwise, of course now I have eagle vision, but thats beside the point. Now I have my normal owl night vision and eagle day vision lol. Super satisfied. I dont even need sunglasses 😀 of course these cost normal glasses+designer sunglasses BUT they look great on me and I never have to switch 😎 and they are also transitions so theyre also sunglasses as a super backup XD but I couldnt be more satisfied. The only somewhat future problem is that the only lens-cleaning cloths we have in the house are from Norwex and the silver in the cloth messes up the blue filter, so I need to get a normal herp-derp cleaning cloth some time soon. 

Anyways, this was primarily to express my satisfaction with a lifelong problem I’ve had being finally cured by modern engineering. Now all that’s left is figuring out what about MY eyes specifically have such a low tolerance for high energy light. Maybe in due time. A lifetime of discovery is still waiting, maybe my answer is among the many.

Enjoy your stay in Esoterica.

Leave a comment